Skip to main content

Malvina Hoffman: Archival Collections

Archives at The Field

Paper Files

  • Office of the President (six boxes, with chronological index): Stanley Field Papers, Series: Correspondence Malvina Hoffman 
  • Henry Field Papers: Races of Mankind Map & Essay, Anthropometric Path, Hall of Physical Anthropology, Hoffman Correspondence
  • Henry Field Races of Mankind Correspondence (1920-1950): Volumes 12 & 13, 2 boxes - 1 linear foot
  • Department of Anthropology Archives Papers

Film

Hall of Man Expedition by Samuel B. Grimson

In 1931 sculptor Malvina Hoffman accompanied by photographer and filmmaker Samuel Grimson and secretary Gretchen Green undertook a Field Museum-sponsored expedition to study people in different world locales who would form the basis for her sculptural work commissioned for the "Races of Mankind" exhibit at the Field Museum of Natural History, Chicago.
 

© The Field Museum, GN80305.

Additional Archive Holdings

A nearly complete archive of letters, manuscripts, photographs, diaries, drawings, and films documents Malvina Hoffman's life and her career as a sculptor and writer. A finding aid is accessible through the Online Archive of California.

Hoffman, Malvina. “Malvina Hoffman papers, 1897-1984.” Getty Research Institute Research Library, Special Collections and Visual Resources, 

Repository:
The Getty Research Institute
Research Library
Special Collections and Visual Resources
1200 Getty Center Drive, Suite 1100
Los Angeles, California 90049-1688

© The Field Museum, GN91655_307d, Photographer John Weinstein.