Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
An excellent starting point for researching various aspects of the World's Columbian Exposition of 1893. (Note: Search the WorldCat catalog using the search terms "WCE Collection" for a full listing of volumes held by The Field Museum.)
Annotated Bibliography by A must for all collectors of World's Columbian Exposition books and paper, this book contains over 2700 citations and many historical facts. Easy to use, the 16 chapters are divided by subject and include music, guides, legislation, state publications, foreign publications with title translations, view books, salesmen's samples, and world's congresses.
Call Number: T500.L1 D92
Publication Date: 1992-05-01
The Chicago World's Fair of 1893 by Originally conceived to commemorate the 400th anniversary of Columbus's discovery of America, the World's Columbian Exposition of 1893 was one of the largest (633 acres) and most influential aggregations of human talent, energy, and industry ever assembled. More than 27 million visitors entered the grounds (now Jackson Park) to marvel at the exhibits and displays housed in some 200 buildings, including those of 79 foreign governments and 38 states. Although the Fair had its share of "firsts" (original Ferris wheel, first midway, Edison's kinetoscope, etc.), its chief marvel was its architecture. It is that aspect which is emphasized in this striking photographic record. Beginning with an overview of the fair's planning and conceptual stages, Stanley Appelbaum's well-researched text then proceeds to a fascinating discussion of the personalities, regional rivalries, and intense controversy surrounding the Beaux-Arts architecture (the "White City" style) of the fair, including its enormous impact on subsequent American architecture. The contributions of such outstanding architects and firms as R. M. Hunt; McKim, Mead and White; Frederick Law Olmsted; and Peabody and Stearns are described. The book then becomes a building-by-building walking tour of the fair — imaginatively reconstructed with the help of 128 sharply reproduced rare contemporary photographs, printed on fine coated stock, and a concise, fact-filled text. The placid basins, ponds, and Lagoon that graced the fairgrounds lend a serene aura to these priceless views of the great buildings and sights of the fair: the Beaux-Arts glories of the Administration and Agriculture Buildings; Daniel Chester French's statue of the Republic; the Columbian Fountain by Frederick MacMonnies; the Golden Door of Louis Sullivan's Transportation Building; the Peristy≤ Mary Cassatt's mural in the Woman's Building; the pure classicism of the Palace of Fine Arts (now the Museum of Science and Industry); numerous state and foreign pavilions, and of course, the Midway — the first separate amusement area at a World's Fair, and the reputed location of Little Egypt's celebrated danse du ventre. In the concluding section, the author touches on other memorable aspects of the fair and its times: the Panic of 1893; the Pullman Strike; famous visitors (Archduke Ferdinand, the Spanish Infanta, etc.); cultural and social congresses, and finally, the disastrous fires that ultimately destroyed many of the buildings. For social and cultural historians, Chicagoans, and anyone interested in the special magic of a world's fair, this book is a loving and nostalgic look back — to a time bathed in the golden light of the fin-de-siècle years, when a colossal spectacle of human achievement in art, science, and industry captured the world's attention for one magic and unforgettable moment.
Call Number: T500.B1 A66
Publication Date: 1980-06-01
Contesting Images by The prevalence of photography at the World's Columbian Exposition of 1893 demonstrated that it was a technology in transition. Photographs were used in innovative ways and on a scale never attempted at previous exhibitions. The special British Loan Collection featured preeminent photographers of the new pictorial art movement, while the most recent French developments in color photography and in criminal photography were on display. Key photographic manufacturers in the United States, including the Eastman Company, staged elaborate exhibits, and photographers such as James Landy, Julius Caesar Strauss, and Emma Farnsworth showed their work. Contesting Images reveals that there were also competing uses of photography at the fair. The Exposition was a stage for the internal politics of both the official organizers and the photographers and manufacturers as they competed for their respective spaces. In addition, the Exposition regulated photography for commercial consumption by licensing concessions and restricting the equipment used by professional and amateur photographers.The role that photography played at the World's Columbian Exposition opens up a new window on the dynamics that drove this event, providing an insider's view of how the fair worked for both exhibitors and spectators.
Call Number: TR183 B87
Publication Date: 1994-02-01
The Devil in the White City by Two men, each handsome and unusually adept at his chosen work, embodied an element of the great dynamic that characterized America’s rush toward the twentieth century. The architect was Daniel Hudson Burnham, the fair’s brilliant director of works and the builder of many of the country’s most important structures, including the Flatiron Building in New York and Union Station in Washington, D.C. The murderer was Henry H. Holmes, a young doctor who, in a malign parody of the White City, built his “World’s Fair Hotel” just west of the fairgrounds—a torture palace complete with dissection table, gas chamber, and 3,000-degree crematorium. Burnham overcame tremendous obstacles and tragedies as he organized the talents of Frederick Law Olmsted, Charles McKim, Louis Sullivan, and others to transform swampy Jackson Park into the White City, while Holmes used the attraction of the great fair and his own satanic charms to lure scores of young women to their deaths. What makes the story all the more chilling is that Holmes really lived, walking the grounds of that dream city by the lake. The Devil in the White City draws the reader into a time of magic and majesty, made all the more appealing by a supporting cast of real-life characters, including Buffalo Bill, Theodore Dreiser, Susan B. Anthony, Thomas Edison, Archduke Francis Ferdinand, and others. In this book the smoke, romance, and mystery of the Gilded Age come alive as never before. Erik Larson’s gifts as a storyteller are magnificently displayed in this rich narrative of the master builder, the killer, and the great fair that obsessed them both. To find out more about this book, go to http://www.DevilInTheWhiteCity.com.
Call Number: T500.B1 L27
Publication Date: 2003-02-11
The Encyclopedia of Chicago by One of the great American metropolises, Chicago rises out of the prairie in the heart of the country, buffeted by winds coming off the plains and cooled by the waters of the inland sea of Lake Michigan. Chicago is a city of size and mass, the cradle of modern architecture, the freight hub of the nation, a city built on slaughterhouses and cacophonous financial trading tempered by some of the finest cultural institutions in the world. While many histories have been written of the city, none can claim the scope and breadth of the long-awaited Encyclopedia of Chicago. Developed by the Newberry Library with the cooperation of the Chicago Historical Society, The Encyclopedia of Chicago is the definitive historical reference on metropolitan Chicago. More than a decade in the making, the Encyclopedia brings together hundreds of historians, journalists, and experts on everything from airlines to Zoroastrians to explore all aspects of the rich world of Chicagoland, from its geological prehistory to the present. The main alphabetical section of the Encyclopedia, comprising more than 1,400 entries, covers the full range of Chicago's neighborhoods, suburbs, and ethnic groups, as well as the city's cultural institutions, technology and science, architecture, religions, immigration, transportation, business history, labor, music, health and medicine, and hundreds of other topics. The Encyclopedia has the widest geographical reach of any city encyclopedia of its kind, encompassing eight of the region's counties, including suburbs. Nearly 400 thumbnail maps pinpoint Chicago neighborhoods and suburban municipalities; these maps are complemented by hundreds of black-and-white and color photographs and thematic maps that bring the history of metropolitan Chicago to life. Additionally, contributors have provided lengthy interpretive essays—woven into the alphabetical section but set off graphically—that take a long view of such topics as the built environment, literary images of Chicago, and the city's often legendary and passionate sports culture. The Encyclopedia also offers a comprehensive biographical dictionary of more than 2,000 individuals important to Chicago history and a detailed listing of approximately 250 of the city's historically significant business enterprises. A color insert features a timeline of Chicago history and photo essays exploring nine pivotal years in this history. The Encyclopedia of Chicago is one of the most significant historical projects undertaken in the last twenty years, and it has everything in it to engage the most curious historian as well as settle the most boisterous barroom dispute. If you think you know how Chicago got its name, if you have always wondered how the Chicago Fire actually started and how it spread, if you have ever marveled at the Sears Tower or the reversal of the Chicago River—if you have affection, admiration, and appreciation for this City of the Big Shoulders, this Wild Onion, this Urbs in Horto, then The Encyclopedia of Chicago is for you.
Call Number: Ref. F548.3 E52g
Publication Date: 2004-10-15
Grand Illusions by An analysis of every facet of Chicago's 1893 World's Columbian Exposition illustrated with hundreds of cultural artifacts.
Call Number: T500.B1 G72h
Publication Date: 1993-05-01
The World's Columbian Exposition by In 1893, the World's Columbian Exposition had a profound impact on urban planning and the Beaux-Arts period of American architecture. The fair introduced the Ferris Wheel, Cracker Jacks, and fiberglass. Yet today, except for one building and a grassy park, all that remains is the legacy of printed material dispersed throughout the country. This reference guide, intended for historians, librarians, and collectors, provides access to that legacy. The introduction summarizes the Exposition's influence. The bibliography, arranged to allow researchers to browse topics broadly, describes over 6,000 books, journal articles, and other materials. A directory of special collections of fair-related materials is also included. Newspaper and magazine articles, books, dissertations, drawings, photographs, maps, letters, documents, and collections of memorabilia--these provide the enduring heritage of the fair. This guide provides information on all aspects of that heritage. In addition to the bibilography itself, an extensive introduction discusses the influence the fair has had on America. Illustrations provide a visual portrayal of the fair. A directory of special collections of fair-related materials provides an inventory of each collection, along with addresses and telephone numbers. This book is the only comprehensive reference guide to the World's Columbian Exposition.
Call Number: Call Number: T500.L1 B37
Publication Date: 1996-05-30
The World's Columbian Exposition by This exceptional chronicle takes readers on a visual tour of the glittering white city that emerged along the swampy south shore of Lake Michigan as a symbol of Chicago's rebirth and pride twenty-two years after the Great Fire
Call Number: T500.B1 B75 2002
Publication Date: 2002-06-12
Rare Book Room
© The Field Museum, GN90799d_LakefrontPainting. Colored Pencil and watercolor rendition [painting] by artist Childe Hassam of the fair grounds from an elevated perspective. June 1, 1893.
Examples of holdings in the Rare Book Room include the following titles. For a comprehensive list, please visit the Library's catalog on WorldCat at fieldmuseumlibrary.on.worldcat.org.