Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

History of Field Museum Expeditions: Botany

Botany Expeditions

Date Expedition Name Geographic Locale Collecting Purpose Who References/Film  
1894 Expedition to Central America Havana, Cuba, Progreso Islands on east coast of Yucatan, Vera Cruz, Laguna di Terminus Botanical collections formed types included in "Flora of Yucatan." Zoological, esp. shells; Archaeological. Dr. Charles Frederick Millspaugh (Bot.) Prof. Wm.Henry Holmes (Anth.), Mr. Allison V. Armour (sponsor)

Annual Report (1894/1895) Vol. 1, No. 1, (p. 16) 

 

see also Botanical Series Vol. 1, No. 1; Vol. 1, No. 2 

Anthropology Series Vol. 1, No. 1, Pt. 1 and Pt. 2

     
1894(?) Fieldwork of the Botany of lower California USA Botanical Mrs. M.S. Snyder (volunteer collector) Annual Report (1894/1895) Vol. 1, No. 1 (p. 18)
1895 Botanical Expedition to Mississippi Valley USA Forestry Charles F. Millspaugh (Bot.) Annual Report (1895/1896) Vol. 1, No. 2 (p. 102)
1897 Botanical Field Trips to northern Mississippi, southern Illinois, and eastern West Virginia USA Collection for forestry of North America Charles Millspaugh, Curator of Botany Annual Report (1896/1897) Vol. 1, No. 3 (p. 188)
1898 Botanical Field Trip to Mississippi and Arkansas USA Plants and woods C.F. Millspaugh Annual Report (1897/1898) Vol. 1, No. 4 (p. 276)
North American forestry
1898 Allison V. Armour Expedition The Antilles Botanical Expedition to West Indies C.F. Millspaugh Annual Report (1898/1899) Vol. 1, No. 5 (p. 363)
1901 Botanical Expedition to the West Indies The Antilles Plant material and photographs C.F. Millspaugh Annual Report (1900/1901) Vol 2. No. 1 (p. 17)
1902 Expedition to Eastern Asia Asia Ethnology, geology, and botany Alleyne Ireland Annual Report (1901/1902) Vol. 2, No. 2 (p. 97)
1902 Botanical Expedition to northern Minnesota USA North American woods, herbarium specimens, economic specimens Chas. J. Brand Annual Report (1901/1902) Vol. 2, No. 2 (p. 97)
1903 Botanical Expedition to Minnesota USA North American forestry woods, herbarium specimens, economic specimens Chas. J. Brand Annual Report (1902/1903) Vol. 2, No. 3 (p. 181)
1903 Botanical Expedition to Lake Chicago Basin USA Collection of plants O.E. Lansing Jr.  Annual Report (1902/1903) Vol. 2, No. 3 (p. 181)
1904 Botanical Expedition to Florida Keys USA Herbarium specimens O.E. Lansing Jr. Annual Report (1903/1904) Vol. 2, No. 4 (p. 270)
1904 Botanical Expedition to the Bahamas The Antilles Herbarium specimens and photographs C.F. Millspaugh Annual Report (1903/1904) Vol. 2, No. 4 (p. 270)
1904 Botanical Expedition to east coast of Florida USA Herbarium specimens A.B. Burgess Annual Report (1903/1904) Vol. 2, No. 4 (p. 270)
1905 Botanical Expedition to Bahamas The Antilles Herbarium material C.F. Millspaugh Annual Report (1904/1905) Vol. 2, No. 5 (p. 358)
1906 Botanical Expedition to Mexico Mexico Herbarium specimens J.M. Greenman Annual Report (1906) Vol. 3, No. 1 (p. 27)
1906 Botanical Field Trip to Chicago Basin USA Herbarium specimens O.E. Lansing Jr. Annual Report (1906) Vol. 3, No. 1 (p. 27)
1907 Botanical Expedition to the Bahamas The Antilles Herbarium material L.J.K. Brace Annual Report (1907) Vol.3, No. 2 (p.133)
1907 Botanical Expedition to the Bahamian Archipelago The Antilles Herbarium and economic material C.F. Millspaugh Annual Report (1907) Vol.3, No. 2 (p.134)
1907 Botanical Field Work in southeast Missouri  USA Timbers H.H. Smith Annual Report (1907) Vol.3, No. 2 (p.134)
1907 Botanical Expedition to the Bahamas The Antilles Herbarium materials N.L. Britton Annual Report (1907) Vol.3, No. 2 (p.134)
1908 Botanical Field Trip to Missouri  USA Timbers H.H. Smith Annual Report (1908) Vol. 3, No. 3 (p. 238)
1908 Botanical Field Trip to West Virginia USA Timbers H.H. Smith Annual Report (1908) Vol. 3, No. 3 (p. 238)
1909 Botanical Expedition to Jamaica The Antilles Tropical fruits B.E. Dahlgren Annual Report (1909) Vol. 3. No. 4 (p. 351)
1909 Botanical Field Trip to West Virginia and northern Georgia USA Timbers H.H. Smith Annual Report (1909) Vol. 3. No. 4 (p. 352)
1909 Botanical Field Trip to Starved Rock, Illinois USA Herbarium specimens J.M. Greenman Annual Report (1909) Vol. 3. No. 4 (p. 352)
1909 Botanical Expedition to Texas USA Herbarium specimens R.A. Dixon Annual Report (1909) Vol. 3. No. 4 (p. 352)
1910 Botanical Field Trip to northern Georgia USA Timbers H.H. Smith Annual Report (1910) Vol. 4 No. 1 (p. 27)
1910 Botanical Field Trip to Texas USA Herbarium specimens R.A. Dixon Annual Report (1910) Vol. 4 No. 1 (p. 27)
1911 Botanical Field Trip to the Pacific Coast (California and Oregon) USA Timber, economic material, and economic specimens H.H. Smith Annual Report (1911) Vol. 4, No. 2 (p. 124)
1911 Botanical Expedition to Bahama Archipelago The Antilles Herbarium specimens and economic materials C.F. Millspaugh Annual Report (1911) Vol. 4, No. 2 (p. 124)
1911 Botanical Field Trip to south Missouri USA Herbarium species O.E. Lansing Jr. Annual Report (1911) Vol. 4, No. 2 (p. 124)
1911 World Tour (Tropics of Japan, China, Philippines, Straits Settlements, Java, Ceylon and India) Asia Economic material and herbarium specimens C.F. Millspaugh Annual Report (1911) Vol. 4, No. 2 (p. 124)
1911 Field Trips to Michigan, Indiana, and Illinois USA Herbarium species O.E. Lansing Jr.  Annual Report (1911) Vol. 4, No. 2 (p. 124)
1912 Botanical Expedition to Pacific Coast USA Timbers, economic material, and herbarium specimens H.H. Smith Annual Report (1912) Vol. 4, No. 3 (p. 210)
1912 Botanical Field Trip to Florida USA Botanical specimens C.H. Carpenter Annual Report (1912) Vol. 4, No. 3 (p. 210)
1912 Botanical Field Trips to Illinois and Indiana  USA Herbarium specimens O.E. Lansing Jr. Annual Report (1912) Vol. 4, No. 3 (p. 210)
1912 Japan, China, and tropics of the Old World Asia Economic material and herbarium specimens C.F. Millspaugh Annual Report (1912) Vol. 4, No. 3 (p. 210)
1913 Botanical Field Trip to Indiana USA North American forestry H.H. Smith Annual Report (1913) Vol. 4, No. 4 (p. 299)
1917 Botanical Field Trip to Indiana and northern Illinois USA Living plant material and herbarium specimens Department of Botany, Curator of Botany Annual Report (1917) Vol. 5, No. 3 (p. 165)
1921 Botanical Study Trip to Gray Herbarium, New York Botanical Garden and the U.S. National Herbarium USA Studying collections from Santa Catalina Island, California Curator of Dept. Botany Annual Report (1921) Vol. 6, No. 1 (p. 38)
1921 Botanical Field Trips to Illinois and Louisiana USA Herbarium specimens Curator of Dept. Botany Annual Report (1921) Vol. 6, No. 1 (p. 38)
1922 Botanical Expedition to Peru South America Botanical material J.F. Macbride, W. Featherstone Annual Report (1922) Vol. 6, No. 2 (p. 114)
1922 Botanical Expedition to British Guiana South America Herbarium and economic specimens B.E. Dahlgren, J.R. Millar Annual Report (1922) Vol. 6, No. 2 (p. 114))
1922 Botanical study trip to Paris and London Europe South American plants C.F. Millspaugh Annual Report (1922) Vol. 6, No. 2 (p. 111)
1923 Captain Marshall Field Expedition to Peru South America Herbarium and economic specimens J.F. MacBride, Dr. G.S. Bryan Annual Report (1923) Vol. 6. No. 3 (p.211),  
1924-1925 British Guiana Botanical Expedition South America Tropical woods A.C. Persaud Annual Report (1924) Vol. 6, No. 4 (p. 302)
1925 F.W. Pennell Botanical Expedition to Peru Chile and Peru Herbarium specimens Dr. F.W. Pennell Annual Report (1925) Vol. 6, No. 5 (p. 429)
1925-1929 Captain Marshall Field Botanical Expedition to Peru South America Herbarium and economic specimens Dr. A. Weber Annual Report (1925) Vol. 6, No. 5 (p. 429)
1926 Rawson-MacMillan Sub-Arctic Expedition for Field Museum Sub-Arctic Anthropological, botanical, geological, and zoological material D.B. MacMillan, J.H.C. Martens, A.C. Weed, Ashley Hine Annual Report (1926) Vol. 7, no. 1 (p. 5877)
1926 Botanical expedition to the Peruvian Andes South America Herbarium and economic specimens A. Weberbauer Annual Report (1926) Vol. 7, no. 1 (p. 76)
1926-1927 Captain Marshall Field Brazilian Expedition South America Botanical collections B.E. Dahlgren, J.R. Millar, George Peterson Annual Report (1926) Vol. 7, no. 1 (p. 58)
1927-1928 Captain Marshall Field Expedition to Panama Central America Botanical collections G. Proctor Cooper Annual Report (1928) Vol. 7, No. 3 (p. 446)
1929 Marshall Field Botanical Expedition to the Amazon South America (Peru) Botanical collections August Weberbauer Annual Report (1929) Vol. 8, No. 1 (p. 92)
1929 Marshall Field Botanical Expedition to the Amazon South America (Brazil and Peru) Botanical collections B.E. Dahlgren, Llewelyn Williams, Emil Sella Annual Report (1929) Vol. 8, No. 1 (p. 92)
1929-1937 Photographing of Tropical Plant Type Specimens in Europe Europe Photographing botanical type specimens J. Francis Macbride Annual Report (1929) Vol. 8, No. 1 (p. 93)
1935 S.C. Johnson Brazil Carnauba Expedition Brazil Botanical collections S.C. Johnson Annual Report (1935) Vol. 10, No. 3 (p. 328)
1937 Botanical Collecting Trip to Mexico Mexico Botanical collections Llewelyn Williams Annual Report (1937) Vol. 11, No. 2 (p. 197)
1938 Sewell Avery Botanical Expedition to Nova Scotia Canada Botanical specimens John R. Millar Annual Report (1938) Vol. 11, No. 3 (p. 364)
1938-1939 Sewell Avery Botanical Expedition to Guatemala North America Flora of Guatemala Paul C. Standley Annual Report (1938) Vol. 11, No. 3 (p. 365)
1939 Field Museum Botanical Expedition to lower California and Southwest USA Algae and bryophyte flora Francis Drouet, Donald Richards Annual Report (1939) Vol. 12, No. 1 (p. 56)
1939-1940 Field Museum Expedition to Guatemala Central America Flora of Guatemala Paul C. Standley, Julian A. Steyermark Annual Report (1939) Vol. 12, No. 1 (p. 53)
1940 Botanical Collecting Trip (Maine) USA Habitat group of marine algae Emil Sella Annual Report (1940) Vol. 12, No. 2 (p. 218)
1940-1941 Field Museum's Third Botanical Expedition to Guatemala North America Diversified flora of Guatemala for use in "Flora of Guatemala" Julian A. Steyermark, William H. Coibion Annual Report (1940) Vol. 12, No. 2 (p. 217)
1941 Field Museum Botanical Expedition to California USA Algae flora and bryophytes B.A. Krukoff Annual Report (1941) Vol. 12, No. 3 (p. 373)
1941-1942 Field Museum Fourth Botanical Expedition  to Guatemala Central America Completion of exploration for "Flora of Guatemala" Dr. Julian A. Steyermark, Assistant Curator of the Herbarium Annual Report (1941) Vol. 12, No. 3 (p. 372)
  see also FMNH Bulletin vol. 13, no. 2, p. 6    
1941-1942 Field Museum Venezuelan Government Botanical Expedition South America Herbarium materials, woods, and economic plant materials Llewelyn Williams, Curator of Economic Botany Annual Report (1941) Vol. 12, No. 3 (p. 374)
  see also FMNH Bulletin vol. 13, no. 2, p. 6    
1944-1945 Chicago Natural History Museum-Venezuelan Ministry of Agriculture Field Trip to Oriente Region of Venezuela South America Collecting plants from high elevations Dr. Steyermark Annual Report (1944), p. 50, Annual Report  (1945), p. 42
1946 Botanical Expedition to Nicaragua, Honduras and El Salvador Central America Collecting material for "Flora of Central America" Julian A. Steyermark Annual Report (1946) p. 52
1947 Botanical Expedition to Cuba The West Indies Palms B.E. Dahlgren Annual Report (1947) p. 50
1948 Cuban Botanical Field Trip West Indies Palms and economic plants Dr. B.E. Dahlgren Annual Report (1948) p. 31, p. 43
1948 Desloge Peruvian Botanical Expedition South America Cultivated plants Dr. Hugh C. Cutler Annual Report (1948) p. 31, p. 44
1948 Gulf States Botanical Expedition (Louisiana and Florida) USA Plants (cryptogams) Dr. Francis Drouet Annual Report (1948) p. 31, p. 43
1948- Middle Central American Botanical Expedition (Honduras, Nicaragua, and El Salvador) Central America Collecting material for "Flora of Middle Central America" Paul C. Standley

Annual Report (1948) p. 31, p. 41

Annual Report (1949) p. 29, p. 40

Annual Report (1950) p. 32, p. 42

1949-
1950-
1949 Cuban Botanical Expedition  West Indies Study and collection of palms B.E. Dahlgren Annual Report (1949) p. 29, p. 40
1949 Cuban Botanical Field Trip West Indies Study and collection of palms B.E. Dahlgren Annual Report (1949) p. 29, p. 41
1949 Eastern States Botanical Field Trip USA To borrow, check materials and records of distribution of flora of Guatemala Dr. Julian A. Steyermark Annual Report (1949) p. 29, p. 41
1949 New York State Botanical Field Trip USA Study of collections of useful plants Hugh C. Cutler Annual Report (1949) p. 29, p. 42
1949 Southwestern Botanical Expedition (Arizona) USA  Desert plants Hugh C. Cutler Annual Report (1949) p. 29p. 42

 

1950 European Study Trip Europe  Algae Dr. Francis Drouet Annual Report (1950) p. 32, p. 46
1950-1951 Cuba Botanical Expedition West Indies Palms Dr. B.E. Dahlgren Annual Report (1950) p. 32, p. 42
1951 Florida Botanical Field Trip USA  Flowering plants Emil Sella Annual Report (1951) p. 29, p. 42
1951 Southwest Botanical Field Trip (New Mexico) USA Plant collections Hugh C. Cutler Annual Report (1951) p. 29, p. 39
1951 Texas Botanical Field Trip USA Fossils, plants, and woods Dr. Theodor Just Annual Report (1951) p. 29, p. 39
1952 Cuba Botanical Expedition West Indies Palm specimens Dr. B.E. Dahlgren Annual Report (1952) p. 31, p. 39
1953 Cuba Botanical Expedition West Indies Palm specimens Dr. B.E. Dahlgren Annual Report (1953) p. 32, p. 40
1953 Southeastern States Botanical Field Trip (Tennessee and North Carolina) USA Leafy branches for reproduction  Emil Sella Annual Report (1953) p. 32, p. 45
1953 Venezuela Botanical Expedition South America Plant specimens from unexplored mountain Julian A. Steyermark, Charles Griffin Annual Report (1953) p. 32, p. 41
  see also FMNH Bulletin vol. 24, no. 2, 1953, p. 6    
1954 Cuba Botanical Field Trip West Indies Palms B.E. Dahlgren Annual Report (1954) p. 33, p. 43
1954-1955 Venezuelan Botanical Expedition in Collaboration with New York Botanical Garden South America Flora of summit of Chimanta-tepui Mountain Julian A. Steyermark, Dr. John Wurdack Annual Report (1954) p. 33, p. 43-44
1955 Cuba Botanical Field Trip West Indies Palms B.E. Dahlgren Annual Report (1955) p. 35, p. 43
1955 West Coast Botanical Field Trip (Oregon and northern California) USA Plant material Emil Sella Annual Report (1955) p. 35, p. 46
1956 Cuba Botanical Field Trip West Indies Palms B.E. Dahlgren Annual Report (1956) p. 36, p. 47
1957 Illinois Botanical Field Trips USA Study of grasses Dr. John W. Thieret Annual Report (1957) p. 34, p. 48
1957-1958 University of California Botanical Garden Expedition to the Andes USA      
1958 Northern Great Plains Botanical Field Trip USA (Minnesota, North & South Dakota, Iowa, Nebraska, Montana, and Wyoming) Grasses Dr. John W. Thieret Annual Report (1958) p. 40, p. 54
  see also FMNH Bulletin vol. 29, no. 2, p. 7    
1959 Northern Great Plains Botanical Field Trip USA-Canada Vegetation along Enterprise-Mackenzie River Highway John W. Thieret Annual Report (1959) p. 36, p. 54, 56
1961-1962 Northwest Territories Botanical Expedition Canada Vegetational survey - Fort Providence - Yellowknife Highway John W. Thieret Annual Report (1961) p. 34, p. 44
1962-1964 Guatemala Botanical Expedition Central America Botanical specimens Dr. Louis O. Williams Annual Report (1962) p. 35, p. 48 
1963-1964 Hutchinson Collecting Expedition to Peru Peru Botany Paul Hutchison Annual Report (1963), p. 43
1963-1965 Central American Botanical Field Work (in cooperation with the Escuela Agricola Panamericana of Honduras and the Museo Nacional, San Jose, Costa Rica Central America Botanical specimens Louis O. Williams Annual Report (1963) p. 34, p. 43
Annual Report (1964) p. 21
1964-1965 Central America Botanical Expedition Central America Botany Louis O. Williams Annual Report (1965) p. 11
1965 Wyoming Botanical Field Trip USA Botanical specimens Dr. Ponce de Leon, Robert Stolze Annual Report (1965) p. 11
1966 Continuation of Flora of Peru Peru Botany

Donald R. Simpson, Louis O. Williams, Mr. Schunke 

Dr. Gabriel Edwin

Annual Report (1966) p. 11
1966-1967 Botanical Field Work in Central America Costa Rica Botany William C. Burger, Antonia Molina R., Dr. Louis O. Williams Annual Report (1966) p. 11
1966 Botanical Field Trip Wyoming, USA Botany Robert G. Stolze Annual Report (1966) p. 12
1967 Botanical and Forest Survey of Peruvian Amazonia Peru Botany

William C. Burger, Robert G. Stolze, Donald R. Simpson, Jose Schunke, Antonio Molina R.

Annual Report (1967-1968) p. 14
1968 Botanical and Forest Survey of Peruvian Amazonia South America Botany Louis O. Williams Annual Report (1967-1968) p. 14
1968 Floristic Studies and Field Work in Central America Costa Rica Botany William C. Burger, Robert G. Stolze, Donald R. Simpson Annual Report (1967-1968) p. 14
1968 Flora of Guatemala South America Botany Antonio Molina R. Annual Report (1967-1968) p. 15
1968 Floristic Studies & Field Work in Central America Central America Botany Antonio Molina R. Annual Report (1967-1968) p. 15
1970 Botanical Expedition to Peru Peru Botanical, Forest resources Donald R. Simpson, Jose Schunke Annual Report (1969-1970) p. 11
  see also FMNH Bulletin vol. 41, no. 4, p. 13    

 

Botany Expeditions

Courtesy of: E. P. Allen. © Field Museum of Natural History. Expedition members: five men posing in a large tree. Includes Charles Millspaugh, top right man with sombrero hat. verify location, might be Yucatan. Others listed on expedition: Edward P. Allen, Edward S. Isham Jr., Jordan L. Mott Jr., 1899.