Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

History of Field Museum Expeditions: Geology

Geology Expeditions

Date Expedition Name Locale Collecting Purpose Who References/Film  

1894-1895

 

Fieldwork at the Green Mountain Chain in western Massachusetts and north Connecticut USA Geological Prof. O. Farrington (Geo.) Annual Report (1894/1895) Vol. 1, No. 1 (p. 18)
Prof. Emerson
Prof. Hobbs
1895-1896 Geological Expedition to Republic of Mexico Mexico Volcanic and glacial phenomena and economic deposits O.C. Farrington (Geo.) Annual Report (1895/1896) Vol. 1, No. 2 (p. 102)
  see also Geol. Series Vol. 1, No. 2      
1897 Geological Field Trip to Kentucky USA Material illustrative of cave formation O.C. Farrington, Curator of Geology Annual Report (1896/1897) Vol. 1, No. 3 (p. 188)
1898 Geological Field Trip to Mississippi and Arkansas USA Lead and zinc ores H.W. Nichols Annual Report (1897/1898) Vol. 1, No. 4 (p. 276)
1898 Geological Field Trip to the Badlands, South Dakota USA Vertebrate fossils O.C. Farrington Annual Report (1897/1898) Vol. 1, No. 4 (p. 276)
E.S. Riggs
  see also Geological Series, Vol. 1, No. 5 (p. 369)      
1900 Geological Expedition to Ozark Mountains, Arkansas USA Zinc ores H.W. Nichols Annual Report (1899/1900) Vol. 1, No. 6 (p. 443)
1900 Geological Expedition to Southern Indiana USA Cave formations O.C. Farrington Annual Report (1899/1900) Vol. 1, No. 6 (p. 443)
1902 Expedition to Eastern Asia Asia Ethnology, geology, and botany Alleyne Ireland Annual Report (1901/1902) Vol. 2, No. 2 (p. 97)
1902 Geological Expedition to Maine USA Minerals O.C. Farrington Annual Report (1901/1902) Vol. 2, No. 2 (p. 97)
1902 Geological Expedition to South Dakota and Wyoming USA Ores and minerals H.W. Nichols Annual Report (1901/1902) Vol. 2, No. 2 (p. 97)
1902 Geological Expedition to the Southern States USA Ores, minerals, and fossils H.W. Nichols Annual Report (1902/1903) Vol. 2, No. 3 (p. 180)
1905 Geological Expedition to Arizona and California USA Minerals and Ores O.C. Farrington Annual Report (1904/1905) Vol. 2, No. 5 (p. 358)
1906 Geological Expedition to Kansas  USA Meteorites O.C. Farrington Annual Report (1906) Vol.3, No.1 (p.28)
1907 Geological Expedition to Lake Superior  USA Ores and minerals O.C. Farrington Annual Report (1907) Vol.3, No. 2 (p.134)
1908 Paleontological Field Trip to Mississippi USA Invertebrate fossils A.W. Slocom Annual Report (1908) Vol. 3, No. 3 (p. 238)
1908 Paleontological Expedition to Wyoming USA Vertebrate fossils E.S. Riggs Annual Report (1908) Vol. 3, No. 3 (p. 238)
1908 Geological Field Trip to West Virginia USA Ores and minerals O.C. Farrington Annual Report (1908) Vol. 3, No. 3 (p. 238)
1909 Geological Expedition to Bermuda Islands The Antilles Geological specimens O.C. Farrington Annual Report (1909) Vol. 3. No. 4 (p. 352)
1909 Paleontology Field Trips to Lemont and Wilmington, Illinois USA Invertebrate fossils A.W. Slocom Annual Report (1909) Vol. 3. No. 4 (p. 352)
1909 Geological Expedition to Oklahoma USA Ores H.W. Nichols Annual Report (1909) Vol. 3. No. 4 (p. 352)
1909 Trip to A.Y.P. Exposition (Alaska, Yukon, Pacific) USA Ores and minerals of Pacific Northwest and Alaska O.C. Farrington Annual Report (1909) Vol. 3. No. 4 (p. 352)
1910 Geological Field Trip to Iowa USA Minerals O.C. Farrington Annual Report (1910) Vol. 4 No. 1 (p. 27)
1910 Paleontological Expedition to Utah USA Vertebrate fossils E.S. Riggs Annual Report (1910) Vol. 4 No. 1 (p. 27)
1910 Paleontological Field Trip to Iowa USA Invertebrate fossils A.W. Slocom Annual Report (1910) Vol. 4 No. 1 (p. 27)
1911 Paleontological Field Trips to Kentucky and Illinois USA Invertebrate fossils A.W. Slocom Annual Report (1911) Vol. 4, No. 2 (p. 124)
1912 Geological Expedition to South America Peru, Chile, Argentina, and Brazil Geological specimens R.D. Salisbury Annual Report (1912) Vol. 4, No. 3 (p. 210)
1912 Paleontological Field Trip to Iowa USA Invertebrate fossils A.W. Slocom Annual Report (1912) Vol. 4, No. 3 (p. 210)
1913 Geological Field Trip to Texas USA Meteorites O.C. Farrington Annual Report (1913) Vol. 4, No. 4 (p. 299)
1913 Paleontological Field Trip to Indiana USA Vertebrate fossils E.S. Riggs Annual Report (1913) Vol. 4, No. 4 (p. 299)
1913 Paleontologial Field Trip to Michigan USA Invertebrate fossils A.W. Slocom Annual Report (1913) Vol. 4, No. 4 (p. 299)
1916 Geological Field Trip to western Maine USA Minerals Curator of Geology Annual Report (1916) Vol. 5, No. 2 (p 97) 
1916 Geological Field Trip to New Mexico and Arizona USA Ores and fossils Asst. Curator of Geology Annual Report (1916) Vol. 5, No. 2 (p 97) 
1916 Paleontological Field Trips in Illinois USA Fossils Curator of Geology Annual Report (1916) Vol. 5, No. 2 (p 97) 
1917  Geological Field Trip to Colby, Wisconsin USA Meteorites Curator pg Geology Annual Report (1917) Vol. 5, No 3 (p. 165)
1917 Geological Field Trip to Natural Bridge, Virginia USA Material and data for a model of the Natural Bridge Asst. Curator of Geology Annual Report (1917) Vol. 5, No 3 (p. 165)
1917 Geological Field Trip to northern Illinois USA Material and data for a model of a glacial lake Asst. Curator of Geology Annual Report (1917) Vol. 5, No 3 (p. 166)
1919 Paleontological Field Trips to Indiana and Illinois USA Mastodon E.S. Riggs Annual Report (1919) Vol. 5, No. 5 
1919 Geological Field Trip to Ontario, Canada Canada Ores and rocks Asst. Curator Nichols Annual Report (1919) Vol, 5, No. 5 (p. 318, 319)
1922 Geological Field Trip to Navajo, Arizona USA Meteorites O.C. Farrington

Annual Report (1922) Vol. 6, No. 2 (p. 111)

1922 Marshall Field Paleontological Expedition North America - Canada (Alberta Belly River Formation)  Fossil dinosaurs E.S. Riggs, George F. Sternberg, J.B. Abbott, George Bedford, Antony Dombrosky, C. Harold Riggs

Annual Report (1922) Vol. 6, No. 2 (p. 112)

Annual Report (1922) Vol. 6, No. 2 (p. 114)

1922 Field Expedition to Brazil South America Gems, ores, and minerals O.C. Farrington Annual Report (1922) Vol. 6, No. 2 (p. 114)
1922-1924 Captain Marshall Field Expedition for Vertebrate Paleontology South America - Argentina and Bolivia Vertebrate fossils Elmer S. Riggs, George F. Sternberg, John B. Abbott, Jose Strucco, C. Harold Riggs 

Annual Report (1922) Vol. 6, No. 2 (p. 114

Annual Report (1923) Vol. 6. No. 3 (p.211)

John Abbott Patagonia diary (1923-1924)

1923 Captain Marshall Field Expedition to Brazil South America Gems, ores, and minerals O.C. Farrington Annual Report (1923) Vol. 6. No. 3 (p.211)
1924 Paleontological Expedition to Argentina South America Paleontological collections E.S. Riggs Annual Report (1924) Vol. 6, No. 4 (p. 302)
1924 Paleontological Expedition to Bolivia South America Paleontological collections J.B. Abbott, G.F. Sternberg Annual Report (1924) Vol. 6, No. 4 (p. 302)
1926 Captain Marshall Field Expedition to Brazil, Peru, Argentina, Chile, Bolivia, Uruguay South America Geological and archaeological collections H.W. Nichols Annual Report (1926) Vol. 7, no. 1 (p. 76)
1926 Gilboa, New York Paleontological Expedition USA Paleontological specimens Sharat K. Roy Annual Report (1926) Vol. 7, no. 1 (p. 66, 76)
1926-1927 Captain Marshall Field Second Paleontological Expedition to Argentina and Bolivia South America Paleontological collections Elmer S. Riggs, Robert C. Thorne Annual Report (1926) Vol. 7, no. 1 (p. 76)
  see also FMNH News vol. 4, No. 12, Dec 1933, p. 3    
1927 Geological Field Trip to Maine USA Geology collections O.C. Farrington Annual Report (1927) Vol.7, No. 2 (p. 233)
1927-1928 Newfoundland Paleontological Expedition North America Paleontological collections Sharat K. Roy Annual Report (1928) Vol. 7, No. 3 (p. 446)
1928 Kansas and Nebraska Paleontological Expedition USA Paleontological materials J.B. Abbott Annual Report (1928) Vol. 7, No. 3 (p. 440)
1929 Marshall Field Geological Expedition to New Mexico USA Geological collections Henry W. Nichols Annual Report (1929) Vol. 8, No. 1 (p. 93)
1930 Paleontological Field Work in Indiana  USA Fossil plants Bryan Patterson Annual Report (1930) Vol. 8, No. 2 (p. 354)
1930 Paleontologial Field Trip in Illinois (Braidwood) USA Fossils E.S. Riggs Annual Report (1930) Vol. 8, No. 2 (p. 354)
1930 Paleontological Expedition to Colorado USA Paleontological collections P.S. Martin Annual Report (1930) Vol. 8, No. 2 (p. 354)
1930-1931 Paleontological Field Trips in Illinois (Sag Canal) USA Fossils Bryan Patterson, Sharat K. Roy Annual Report (1930) Vol. 8, No. 2 (p. 354)
1931 Marshall Field Paleontological Expedition to Nebraska USA Paleontological collections E.S. Riggs Annual Report (1931) Vol. 9, No. 1 (p. 104)
1931 Geological Field Trip to Maine USA Mineralogy collections O. C. Farrington Annual Report (1931) Vol. 9, No. 1 (p. 104)
1937 Field Museum Paleontological Expedition to Western Colorado USA Paleontological collections Paul S. Martin, Carl T. Lloyd, Alexander Spoehr, Charles Di Peso, Frank Gregg, John Harphan Annual Report (1937) Vol. 11, No. 2 (p. 189)
1938 Sewell Avery Geological Expedition (Colorado, South Dakota, and Eastern States) USA Structural and dynamic geology and minerals Sharat K. Roy Annual Report (1938) Vol. 11, No. 3 (p. 364)
1938 Geological Field Trip to Western States (Oregon, Washington, Wyoming) USA Quartzes Albert J. Walcott Annual Report (1938) Vol. 11, No. 3 (p. 378)
1939 Geological Field Trip to Eastern States USA Mineralogy   Annual Report (1939) Vol. 12, No. 1 (p. 75)
1939 Field Museum Paleontological Expedition to South Dakota USA Fossil mammals Paul S. Martin, Joseph Weckler, John Rinaldo, Robert Yule, Mrs. Frances Weckler, Marjorie Kelly Annual Report (1939) Vol. 12, No. 1 (p. 45)
1939 Field Museum Paleontological Expedition to Western Colorado USA Fossil mammals P.S. Martin Annual Report (1939) Vol. 12, No. 1 (p. 46)
1940 Physical Geology Collecting Trip (Central, Eastern, and Western States) USA Physical geology Paul O. McGrew Annual Report (1940) Vol. 12, No. 2 (p. 227) 
1940 Field Museum Paleontological Expedition to South Dakota and Nebraska USA Fossil mammals Paul O. McGrew Annual Report (1940) Vol. 12, No. 2 (p. 227)
1941 Field Museum Paleontological Expedition to Colorado USA Vertebrate fossils Bryan Patterson, James H. Quinn Annual Report (1941) Vol. 12, No. 3 (p. 382)
1941 Field Museum Paleontological Expedition to New York State USA Invertebrate fossils Dr. Sharat K. Roy Annual Report (1941) Vol. 12, No. 3 (p. 382)
1941-1942 Field Museum Paleontological Expedition to Honduras Central America Fossil mammals Paul O. McGrew  
  see also FMNH Bulletin vol. 13, no. 2, p. 6    
1942 Field Museum Paleontological Expedition to Utah USA USA Dinosaur fossils Edward L. Holt, James H. Quinn, Orville Gilpin Annual Report (1942) Vol. 13, No. 1 (p. 56)
1944 Chicago Natural History Museum Expedition to Paricutin, Mexico Mexico Photographic survey of volcano; collection of volcanic products Dr. McGrew Annual Report (1944) p. 55
1945 Field Trip to Cretaceous Beds in Alabama USA Turtles from the late Cretaceous marine deposits Dr. Rainer Zangerl Annual Report (1945) p. 48
1946 Paleontological Expedition to the Southwest (Texas) USA Fossil mammals James H. Quinn, Curator Patterson Annual Report (1946) p. 58
1947 Eastern States Geological Expedition (New York, New England States) USA Rocks and physical geological specimens Dr. Sharat K. Roy Annual Report (1947) p. 39, p. 56
1947 Colorado Paleontological Expedition (June) USA Vertebrate mammal fossils Bryan Patterson, James H. Quinn Annual Report (1947) p. 57
  see also FMNH Bulletin vol. 18, no. 5, p. 2    
1947 Field Trip to Alabama (April 15) USA Fossils (turtle material) William Turnbull Annual Report (1947) p. 39, p. 59
  see also FMNH Bulletin vol. 18, no. 5, p. 2    
1947 Field Trip to the Washakie Basin in Wyoming USA Fossils (turtle material) Dr. Rainer Zangerl, Curator of Fossil Reptiles Annual Report (1947) p. 39p. 59
  see also FMNH Bulletin vol. 18, no. 5, p. 2    
1948 Eastern States Geological Field Trip (New York and New England States) USA Rocks Dr. Sharat K. Roy Annual Report (1948) p. 31, p. 48
1948 Pennsylvania Geological Field Trip USA Fossils Eugene S. Richardson  Annual Report (1948) p. 31, p. 47
1948 Wyoming Paleontological Expedition USA Fossil material Dr. Rainer Zangerl Annual Report (1948) p. 31, p. 47

 

1948

Southwest Geological Field Trip (New Mexico, Arkansas, Colorado)

USA

Minerals and ores

Harry E. Changnon

Annual Report (1948) p. 31, p. 48

1949

Tennessee Invertebrate Paleontological Field Trip

USA Fossil mollusks Eugene S. Richardson Annual Report (1949) p. 29, p. 45
1949 Texas Paleontological Field Trip USA Fossils Robert H. Denison Annual Report (1949) p. 44
1949 Western Paleontological Expedition USA Fossils Robert H. Denison Annual Report (1949) p. 29, p. 44

1950

Eastern States Geological Field Trip (New York, etc.)

 USA

Geological collections

Dr. Sharat K. Roy

Annual Report (1950) p. 32, p. 49

1950 Alabama Paleontological Field Trip USA Fossil turtles Dr. Rainer Zangerl Annual Report (1950) p. 32, p. 49
1950 Tennessee Paleobotanical Field Trip USA Fossil plants George Langford Annual Report (1950) p. 32, p. 50
1950 Texas Paleontological Expedition (April, May & June) USA Fossil mammals Bryan Patterson, Dr. Rainer Zangerl Annual Report (1950) p. 32, p. 51
  see alsoFMNH Bulletin vol. 21, no. 1, 1950, p. 5    
1950 Utah Paleontological Expedition (June & July) USA Fish fossils Robert H. Denison Annual Report (1950) p. 32, p. 49
  see also FMNH Bulletin vol. 21, no. 1, 1950, p. 5    
           

1950

Misissippi Valley Field Trip (May)

USA

Rock types from mining localities

Robert Kriss Wyant, Curator of Economic Geology

Annual Report (1950) p. 32, p. 49

 

see also FMNH Bulletin vol. 21, no. 1, 1950, p. 5

   
1950 Wilmington (Illinois) Paleobotanical Trips (April) USA Fossil plants George Langford Annual Report (1950) p. 32, p. 51
  see also FMNH Bulletin vol. 21, no. 1, 1950, p. 5    
1950 Wyoming Invertebrate Paleontological Field Trip (also collecting in SE Idaho) USA Fossils Eugene S. Richardson Annual Report (1950) p. 32, p. 52
  see also FMNH Bulletin vol. 21, no. 7, 1950, p. 7    

1950-1951

Salvadorean Project

Central America

Plant collections, rock collections, birds collections

Dr. Norman C. Fassett, Dr. Sharat K. Roy, Dr. Austin L. Rand

Annual Report (1951) p. 27, p. 75

1951 Wilmington (Illinois) Paleobotanical Field Trips USA Pennsylvanian flora and fauna George Langford Annual Report (1951) p. 29, p. 52
1951 Eastern States Paleontological Field Trip (New York, Ohio and Pennsylvania) USA Fossil fish Robert H. Denison Annual Report (1951) p. 29, p. 47
1951 Oklahoma Paleontological Field Trip USA Fossils William D. Turnbull Annual Report (1951) p. 29, p. 51
1951 Tennessee Paleontological Field Trip USA Fossil plants George Langford Annual Report (1951) p. 29, p. 48
1951-1954 South America Study Trip Argentina Fossil vertebrates Bryan Patterson Annual Report (1951) p. 29, p. 47

1952

Utah Economic Geology Field Trip

USA

Rock and ore specimens

Robert K. Wyant

Annual Report (1952) p. 31, p. 45

1952 Canadian Maritime Provinces Paleontological Field Trip Canada Vertebrate fossils Robert H. Denison Annual Report (1952) p. 31, p. 47
1952 European Study Trip Europe Fossil cycads Theodor Just Annual Report (1952) p. 31,p. 39
1952 Wilmington (Illinois) Paleontological Field Trips USA Fossil plants George Langford Annual Report (1952) p. 31, p. 45
1952 Indiana Paleontological Field Trip USA Fossil plants and invertebrates Eugene S. Richardson Annual Report (1952) p. 31, p. 45
1952 Tennessee Paleontological Field Trip USA Fossil plants and invertebrates George Langford Annual Report (1952) p. 31, p. 45
1952 Texas Paleontological Expedition USA Fossil Mammals Orville L. Gilpin Annual Report (1952) p. 31, p. 48

1953

Mexico Geological Field Trip

Mexico

Volcano - Paricutin

Sharat K. Roy

Annual Report (1953) p. 32, p. 49

 

see also FMNH Bulletin vol. 23, no. 1, 1952, p. 7

   
1953 Paleobotanical Field Trips to the Braidwood, Illinois area USA Fossil plants George Langford Annual Report (1953) p. 32, p. 47
1953 Paleontological Field Trips in the Chicago area USA Coal age insects Eugene S. Richardson Annual Report (1953) p. 32, p. 49
1953 Wyoming Paleontological Expedition USA Fossils Orville L. Gilpin Annual Report (1953) p. 32, p. 48
1953-1954 European Study Trip (Norway, Sweden, British Isles) Europe Devonian fossil fishes Robert H. Denison

Annual Report (1953) p. 47,

Annual Report (1954) p. 33p. 50

1954

El Salvador Field Trip

Central America

Collecting material in deposit of volcano San Salvador

Sharat K. Roy

Annual Report (1954) p. 33, p. 52

1954 Indiana Paleontological Field Work USA Fossils Dr. Rainer Zangerl Annual Report (1954) p. 33, p. 49

1954

Lake Superior Geological Field Trip

USA

Iron ores

Robert K. Wyant

Annual Report (1954) p. 33, p. 52

1954 Texas Paleontological Expedition USA Field operations in Early Cretaceous mammal-bearing Trinity Sands Bryan Patterson Annual Report (1954) p. 33, p. 55

1955

Central America Geological Expedition (El Salvador and Nicaragua)

Central America

Volcanoes

Sharat K. Roy

Annual Report (1955) p. 35, p. 52

1955 Paleobotanical Field Trips to Alabama and Tennessee USA Fossil plants George Langford Annual Report (1955) p. 35, p. 52

1956

Central America Volcanological Expedition

Central America

Volcanoes

Sharat K. Roy

Anual Report (1956) p. 36, p. 55

1956 Eastern States Paleontological Field Trip USA Devonian fossils Robert H. Denison Annual Report (1956) p. 36, p. 53 
1956 Paleobotanical Field trip to Alabama, Mississippi and Tennessee  USA Fossil flora George Langford Annual Report (1956) p. 36, p. 58

1956

Louisiana Sedimentology Field Trip

USA

Examining swamps, bayous, marshes and lakes where black mud is being deposited in inland waters

Rainer Zangerl

Annual Report (1956) p. 36, p. 52

Eugene S. Richardson, Jr.

 

see also FMNH Bulletin vol. 27, no. 2, p. 2, 3

   

1957

Central America Volcanological Expedition

Central America

Volcanoes

Sharat K. Roy

Annual Report (1957) p. 34, p. 52

 

see also FMNH Bulletin vol. 27, no. 2, p. 2, 3

   
1957 Gingko Petrified Forest State Park Field Trip (Washington) USA Fossil and living gymnosperms Theodor Just Annual Report (1957) p. 34, p. 47 
1957 Indiana Paleontological Field Trips USA Study of Pennsylvania black shale Rainer Zangerl Annual Report (1957) p. 34, p. 53
1957 Montana Invertebrate Paleontological Field Trip USA Fossils Eugene S. Richardson Annual Report (1957) p. 34, p. 53
1957 New York State Paleontological Field Trip USA Devonian fossils Robert H. Denison Annual Report (1957) p. 34p. 53
1957 Wyoming Paleontological Expedition USA Mammalian fossils William D. Turnbull Annual Report (1957) p. 34, p. 52

1957-1958

European Study Trip

Europe

Meteorite research

Dr. Sharat K. Roy Annual Report (1957) p. 52
1958 Indiana Paleontological Field Trips USA Paleoecological phase of Mecca project (black shale) Dr. Rainer Zangerl, Dr. Eugene S. Richardson Annual Report (1958) p. 40, p. 59
  see also FMNH Bulletin vol. 29, no. 2, p. 7    
1959 Idaho Paleontological Field Trip USA Devonian fishes Robert G. Denison Annual Report (1959) p. 36, p. 60

1959

Southwest Mineralogical Field Trip

USA

Rocks

Albert W. Forslev

Annual Report (1959)  p. 36, p. 62

1959 Indiana Paleontological Field Trips USA Fossil vertebrates Dr. Ranier Zangerl Annual Report (1959) p. 36, p. 59
1959 Wyoming Paleontological Field Trip USA  Fossil mammals William D. Turnbull Annual Report (1959)  p. 36, p. 60
1960 Big Horn Mountains (Wyoming) Paleontological Field Trip USA Fossil fishes and plants Dr. Robert H. Denison Annual Report (1960) p. 40, p. 61

1961

Central America Volcanological Field Trip

Central America

Volcanoes

Dr. Sharat K. Roy

Annual Report (1961) p. 34, p. 50

1961 Quebec Paleontological Field Trip Canada Upper Devonian rocks and fishes Dr. Robert H. Denison Annual Report (1961) p. 34, p. 49

1961

Vermont Geological Field Trip

USA

Structure of metamorphic rocks

Bertram G. Woodland

Annual Report (1961) p. 34, p. 51

1962

Black Hills Geological Field Trip 

USA

Metamorphic rocks

Bertram G. Woodland

Annual Report (1962) p. 35, p. 54

1962 Wyoming Invertebrate Paleontological Field Trip USA Devonian fossils Eugene S. Richardson Annual Report (1962) p. 35, p. 53
1962 Rocky Mountain Paleontological Field Trip USA Fossil mammals William D. Turnbull Annual Report (1962) p. 35, p. 54

1963

Black Hills Geological Field Trip

USA

Metamorphic rocks

Bertram G. Woodland

Annual Report (1963) p. 47

 

see also FMNH Bulletin vol. 34, no. 3, p. 8

   

1963

South Dakota & Utah Geological Field Trip

USA

Paleogeographic specimens

Dr. John Clark

Annual Report (1963) p. 47

1963 Wyoming Paleontological Field Trip USA Devonian fishes Robert H. Denison, Orville L. Gilpin Annual Report (1963) p. 48
  see also FMNH Bulletin vol. 34, no. 3, p. 8    
1963-1964 South Australia Paleontological Expedition Australia Mammals and other vertebrate fossils William D. Turnbull Annual Report (1963) p. 48

1964

Black Hills Geological Field Trip

USA

Metamorphic rocks

Dr. Bertram G. Woodland

Annual Report (1964) p. 24

1964

Illinois and Indiana Sedimentological Field Work

USA

Sedimentary deposits

Harry Changnon

Annual Report (1964) p. 37

1964

Ontario Mineralogical Field Trip

Canada

Minerals

Dr. Woodland, Dr. Richardson, Dr. Zangerl Annual Report (1964) p. 24
1964 Arkansas Paleontological Field Trip USA Fossils Dr. Woodland, Dr. Richardson, Dr. Zangerl Annual Report (1964) p. 24

1964

Chicago Area Field Trips

USA

Guide to regional geology

Harry Changnon

Annual Report (1963) p. 47

Annual Report (1964) p. 37

1964 Illinois Paleontological Field Trips USA Fossils Dr. E.S. Richardson Annual Report (1964) p. 24
1964 Montana Paleontological Field Trip USA Fossil Fishes Dr. Edward Olsen Annual Report (1964) p. 23
1964 Colorado Paleontological Field Trip USA Fossil Fishes Paul S. Martin Annual Report (1964) p. 17

1965

New York Mineralogical Field Trip

USA

Mineralogy

   

1965

Sediment-Paleoclimate Field Work, South Dakota and Montana

USA

Paleogeography

Betram Woodland, Doy Zachary

Annual Report (1965) p. 15

1965 Illinois Paleontological Field Trips USA Fossils Eugene Richardson Annual Report (1965) p. 13
1966-1967 Late Pliocene Hamilton Fauna Australia Geology William D. Turnbull Annual Report (1966) p. 15
1966 Work at Stillwater Complex S.W. Montana Geology    
1966 Metamorphic Rocks and Structures  USA Geology Dr. Bertram G. Woodland

Annual Report (1965) p. 15

Annual Report (1966) p. 14

1966 Paleogeographic & Paleoecological study of South Dakota during the Oligocene USA Geology Dr. John Clark Annual Report (1965) p. 15
1966 Study of Pennsylvania Strip Mine USA Geology    
1966 Collecting Fossil Sponges Canada Geology Matthew Nitecki Annual Report (1965) p. 13
1966 Wyoming Trip USA Geology Robert H. Denison Annual Report (1965) p. 15
1966 Collecting Fossil Sharks and Acanthodians USA Geology Rainer Zangerl

Annual Report (1965) p. 13

Annual Report (1966) p. 15

1967 Oligocene - Paleogeographic Expedition USA Geology John Clark Annual Report (1967-1968) p. 19
1967 Study Trip to Brussels Europe Fossil sea turtles Rainer Zangerl Annual Report (1967-1968) p. 16
1967 British Columbia - Devonian Expedition Canada Devonian fishes Robert Denison Annual Report (1967-1968)
1967 Fossil Sponges Study and Collecting Expedition USA Geology    
1967 Mesozoic & Tertiary Mammals Expedition USA Geology    
1967 Stillwater Complex Expedition USA Geology    
1967 Volcanic Study Trip USA Geology    
1967 Local Area Invertebrate Field Work USA Geology Eugene S. Richardson Annual Report (1967-1968) p. 18
1967 Metamorphic & Structure Study and Collecting Expedition USA Geology Bertram G. Woodland Annual Report (1967-1968) p. 19
1968 Southwestern expedition USA Geology John Clark Annual Report (1967-1968) p. 19
1968 Duchesnean Expedition USA Geology    
1968 Structural, Metamorphic & Geological Expedition USA Geology Bertram G. Woodland Annual Report (1967-1968) p. 19
1968 Montana Mineralogical Expedition USA Geology    
1968 Mesozoic and Tertiary Expedition USA Geology    

Geology Expeditions

© Field Museum of Natural History. Unidentified man on geological expedition, 1932.