Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

History of Field Museum Expeditions: Anthropology

Date Expedition Name Geographic Locale  Collecting Purpose Who References/Film 
1894-1896 Capt. Miner W. Bruce Ethnological Expedition to Alaska and Siberia Alaska & Siberia Ethnological Capt. Miner W. Bruce (student) Annual Report (1894/1895) Vol. 1, No. 1 (p. 17); Vol. 1, No. 2 (p. 95)
1895 Purchase expedition to Egypt Egypt Archaeological Edward E. Ayer Annual Report (1894/1895) Vol. 1, No. 1 (p. 18); Vol. 1, No. 2 (p. 96)
  see also Bulletin 198(?)      
1895 Fieldwork in Mexico Mexico Archaeological E.H. Thompson (Anth.) Annual Report (1895/1896) Vol. 1, No. 2 (p. 103)
1895 Italy Italy Etruscan and Stone Age remains, Roman terra cottas, metal and stone work Ayer, Ryerson, C.L. Hutchinson Annual Report (1895/1896) Vol. 1, No. 2 (p. 103)
1897 Ethnological Expedition to Far West USA and Canada Ethnological and physical anthropology material - Blackfoot, Kootenay, Flathead, Haida, Tlingit, Tsimshian, Moki, Z┼źni G.A. Dorsey, Asst. Curator, Edward Allen, Photographer Annual Report (1896/1897) Vol. 1, No.3  (p. 186)
1898 Paleontological Field Trip to Missouri USA Fossils O.C. Farrington Annual Report (1897/1898) Vol. 1, No. 4 (p. 276)
1898 Anthropological Field Trip to Oraibi, Arizona USA Plaster casts, Moki Indians G.A. Dorsey Annual Report (1897/1898) Vol. 1, No. 4 (p. 276)
F.B. Melville
1899 Anthropological Expedition to Southern Illinois USA - Mill Creek, Union County, Illinois Quarry shop materials - stone implements G.A. Dorsey Annual Report (1898/1899) Vol. 1, No. 5 (p. 363)
Mr. Phillips
1899 Paleontological Expedition to Wyoming  USA Fossils E.S. Riggs Annual Report (1898/1899) Vol. 1, No. 5 (p. 363)
H.W. Menke (photographer)
1899 Ethnological Expedition to California and Puget Sounds USA Ethnological material, quarry stones and casts G.A. Dorsey Annual Report (1898/1899) Vol. 1, No. 5 (p. 363)
1899 Anthropological Expedition to Vancouver Islands Canada Plaster casts G.A. Dorsey Annual Report (1898/1899) Vol. 1, No. 5 (p. 363)
1899-1900 McCormick Expedition to Little Lower Colorado River, Arizona USA Archaeological collections  J.A. Burt, G.A. Dorsey, H.R. Voth, C.L. Owen

Annual Report (1899/1900) Vol. 1, No. 6 (p. 444)

Annual Report (1900/1901) Vol. 2, No.1 (p. 17)

(McCormick - sponsored expeditions - 4 total)
  Archaeological material, exploring prehistoric Hopi ruins  J.A. Burt, H.R. Voth

Annual Report (1899/1900) Vol. 1, No. 6 (p. 444)

  Archaeological material, exploring prehistoric Hopi ruins J.A. Burt, H.R. Voth Annual Report (1899/1900) Vol. 1, No. 6 (p. 444)
  Archaeological collection from prehistoric Hopi graves in ruins of Walpi and Mishongnovi C.L. Owen Annual Report (1900/1901) Vol. 2, No.1 (p. 17)
  Ethnological collection G.A. Dorsey Annual Report (1900/1901) Vol. 2, No.1 (p. 17)
1900 Anthropological Expedition to Six Nation Reserve, Canada Canada Ceremonial paraphernalia, domestic utensils, yarns, etc.  S.C. Simms Annual Report (1899/1900) Vol. 1, No. 6 (p. 443)
1900 Ethnological Expedition to Pacific Coast States USA Ethnological material from Shoshone and other peoples G.A. Dorsey Annual Report (1899/1900) Vol. 1, No. 6 (p. 443)
1900 Anthropological Expedition to Union County, Illinois USA Aboriginal quarry and shop site material W.A. Phillips Annual Report (1899/1900) Vol. 1, No. 6 (p. 443)
1900 Paleontological Expedition to Western Colorado USA Fossil dinosaurs E.S. Riggs, Prepatory Menke Annual Report (1899/1900) Vol. 1, No. 6 (p. 443)
1900 Archaeological Expedition to Province of Tusayan USA Archaeological material from prehistoric Hopi ruins C.L. Owen Annual Report (1899/1900) Vol. 1, No. 6 (p. 444)
1900 Ethnological Expedition to California USA Ethnological collections from tribes of the Mariposan and Maquelumman peoples J.W. Hudson Annual Report (1900/1901) Vol. 2, No. 1 (p. 17)
1901  Archaeological Expedition to Southern Illinois USA Quarry, shop, and mound collections W.A. Phillips Annual Report (1900/1901) Vol. 2, No. 1 (p. 17)
1901 Archaeological Expedition to Arizona and California USA Ethnological collections from tribes of the Piman and Yuman peoples S.C. Simms Annual Report (1900/1901) Vol. 2, No. 1 (p. 17)
1901 Paleontological Expedition to Western Colorado USA - Colorado Dinosaurs (Brontosaurus), some insects E.S. Riggs Annual Report (1900/1901) Vol. 2, No. 1 (p. 17)
1901  Archaeological Expedition to Illinois and Arkansas USA - Codben, IL; Hot Springs, AR Archaeological materials W.A. Phillips Annual Report (1900/1901) Vol. 2, No. 1 (p. 17)
1901 Anthropological Expedition to Columbia River Basin Canada  Ethnological and archaeological collections from Shahaptian Tribes Merton L. Miller Annual Report (1900/1901) Vol. 2, No. 1 (p. 17)
1901 Ethnological expedition to British Columbia Canada - Queen Charlotte Islands Totem poles, grave carvings, skeletons and general Haida ethnology C.F. Newcombe Annual Report (1900/1901) Vol. 2, No. 1 (p. 17)
1901  Ethnological Expedition to Apache and Navajo Indians. Arizona USA  Ethnological collections (Apache/Navajo) C.L. Owen

Annual Report (1900/1901) Vol. 2, No. 1 (p. 17)

1901 Ethnological Expedition to Oklahoma USA  Ethnological collections from Osage, Pawnee, and Witchita Indians G.A. Dorsey Annual Report (1900/1901) Vol. 2, No. 1 (p. 17)
1902 Ethnological Expedition to Alaska USA Haida and Tlingit ethnology C.F. Newcombe Annual Report (1901/1902) Vol. 2, No. 2 (p. 97)
1902 Ethnological Expedition to Oklahoma USA Kiowa and Comanche ethnology James Mooney Annual Report (1901/1902) Vol. 2, No. 2 (p. 97)
1902 Ethnological Expedition to Montana USA Crow and Cheyenne ethnology S.C. Simms Annual Report (1901/1902) Vol. 2, No. 2 (p. 97)
1902 Ethnological Expedition to Oklahoma USA Pawnee and Arapaho ethnology G.A. Dorsey Annual Report (1901/1902) Vol. 2, No. 2 (p. 97)
1902 Ethnological Expedition to California USA Ethnology J.W. Hudson Annual Report (1901/1902) Vol. 2, No. 2 (p. 97)
1902 Expedition to Eastern Asia Asia Ethnology, geology, and botany Alleyne Ireland Annual Report (1901/1902) Vol. 2, No. 2 (p. 97)
1902  Ethnological Expedition to Oklahoma USA Pawnee, Osage, and Oto ethnology G.A. Dorsey Annual Report (1901/1902) Vol. 2, No. 2 (p. 97)
1902 Archaeological Expedition to Indiana, Kentucky, Missouri, and Tennessee USA Date for map of distribution of Mill Creek Quarry W.A. Phillips Annual Report (1901/1902) Vol. 2, No. 2 (p. 97)
1902 Ethnological Expedition to Montana USA Crow ethnology S.C. Simms Annual Report (1901/1902) Vol. 2, No. 2 (p. 97)
1902 Ethnological Expedition to Oklahoma USA Ponca, Tonkaway and Arapaho ethnology G.A. Dorsey Annual Report (1901/1902) Vol. 2, No. 2 (p. 97)
1902 Ethnological Expedition to Oklahoma USA Pawnee ethnology G.A. Dorsey Annual Report (1901/1902) Vol. 2, No. 2 (p. 97)
1902 Paleontological Expedition to North Dakota USA Cretaceous fossils E.S. Riggs Annual Report (1901/1902) Vol. 2, No. 2 (p. 97)
1902 Ethnological Expedition to Oklahoma USA Pawnee ethnology G.A. Dorsey Annual Report (1902/1903) Vol. 2, No. 3 (p. 180)
1903 Ethnological Expedition to Oklahoma USA Arikara ethnology  G.A. Dorsey Annual Report (1902/1903) Vol. 2, No. 3 (p. 180)
1903 Ethnological Expedition to Oklahoma USA Cheyenne heraldry James Mooney Annual Report (1902/1903) Vol. 2, No. 3 (p. 181)
1903 Paleontological Expedition to Kansas and Oklahoma USA Permian batrachians and reptiles (fossils) H.W. Menke Annual Report (1902/1903) Vol. 2, No. 3 (p. 181)
1903 Ethnological Expedition to British North Borneo Borneo Ethnology Alleyne Ireland Annual Report (1902/1903) Vol. 2, No. 3 (p. 181)

1903

Ethnological Expedition to British Columbia Canada Skeletons and ethnology C.F. Newcombe Annual Report (1902/1903) Vol. 2, No. 3 (p. 181)
1903 Ethnological Expedition to Oklahoma USA Cheyenne and Arapaho ethnology G.A. Dorsey Annual Report (1902/1903) Vol. 2, No. 3 (p. 181)
1903  Ethnological Expedition to California USA Ethnological collections from Wintun, Maidu, and Hupa J.W. Hudson Annual Report (1902/1903) Vol. 2, No. 3 (p. 181)
1903 Anthropological Expedition to Oklahoma USA Data on Pawnee and Wichita in the construction of miniature J.A. Burt Annual Report (1902/1903) Vol. 2, No. 3 (p. 181)
1903 Ethnological Expedition to Arizona USA Apache ethnology C.L. Owen Annual Report (1902/1903) Vol. 2, No. 3 (p. 181)
1903 Ethnological Expedition to Canada and Minnesota USA and Canada Ethnological collections from Crees and Chippeway S.C. Simms Annual Report (1902/1903) Vol. 2, No. 3 (p. 181)
1903 Paleontological Expedition to Wisconsin USA Cambrian fossils, Trenton fossils, clays and sandstones A.W. Slocum Annual Report (1902/1903) Vol. 2, No. 3 (p. 181)
1903 Anthropological Expedition to Arizona USA Investigations in Hopi ceremonies H.R. Voth Annual Report (1902/1903) Vol. 2, No. 3 (p. 181)
1904 Ethnological Expedition to Oklahoma USA Ethnological collections G.A. Dorsey Annual Report (1903/1904) Vol. 2, No. 4 (p. 270)
1904 Ethnological Expedition to Oklahoma USA Ethnological collections G.A. Dorsey Annual Report (1903/1904) Vol. 2, No. 4 (p. 270)
1904 Ethnological Expedition to Northwest Coast of America Canada Ethnological collections C.F. Newcombe Annual Report (1903/1904) Vol. 2, No. 4 (p. 270)
1904 Ethnological Expedition to Malay Peninsula Asia Ethnological collections Alleyne Ireland Annual Report (1903/1904) Vol. 2, No. 4 (p. 270)
1904 Ethnological Expedition to Southern California USA Ethnological collections C.L. Owen Annual Report (1903/1904) Vol. 2, No. 4 (p. 270)
1904 Ethnological Expedition to Arizona USA Ethnological collections H.R. Voth Annual Report (1903/1904) Vol. 2, No. 4 (p. 270)
1904 Ethnological Expedition to Oklahoma USA Ethnological collections James Mooney Annual Report (1903/1904) Vol. 2, No. 4 (p. 270)
1904 Paleontological Expedition to Montana and Wyoming USA Vertebrate fossils E.S. Riggs Annual Report (1903/1904) Vol. 2, No. 4 (p. 270)
1904 Ethnological Expedition to Northern California USA Ethnological collections J.W. Hudson Annual Report (1903/1904) Vol. 2, No. 4 (p. 270)
1904 Paleontological Expedition to Western New York USA Invertebrate fossils A.W. Slocum Annual Report (1903/1904) Vol. 2, No. 4 (p. 270)
1905 Ethnological Expedition to the North Pacific Coast Canada Tsimshian ethnology C.F. Newcombe Annual Report (1904/1905) Vol. 2, No. 5 (p. 358)
1905 Ethnological Expedition to the Lower Klamath River, California USA Hupa ethnology  J.W. Hudson Annual Report (1904/1905) Vol. 2, No. 5 (p. 358)
1905 Ethnological Expedition to Wyoming USA Arapaho ethnology C. Warden Annual Report (1904/1905) Vol. 2, No. 5 (p. 358)
1905 Expedition to Oklahoma, Pawnee ethnology USA Pawnee ethnology G.A. Dorsey Annual Report (1904/1905) Vol. 2, No. 5 (p. 358)
1906 Ethnological Expedition to Mission Region, Southern California USA Ethnological specimens C.L. Owen Annual Report (1906) Vol. 3, No. 1 (p. 27)
1906 Paleontological Expedition to Nebraska and Wyoming USA Vertebrate fossils E.S. Riggs Annual Report (1906) Vol. 3, No. 1 (p. 27)
1906 Ethnological Expedition to North Pacific Coast Alaska, USA Haida ethnology C.F. Newcombe Annual Report (1906) Vol. 3, No. 1 (p. 27)
1906 Ethnological Expedition to Andaman and Nicobar Islands Asia Ethnological specimens Alfred R. Brown Annual Report (1906) Vol. 3, No. 1 (p. 27)
1906 Paleontological Field Trip to Little Traverse Bay, Michigan USA Invertebrate fossils A.W. Slocum Annual Report (1906) Vol. 3, No. 1 (p. 27)
1906 Paleontologial Field trip to Romeo, Illinois USA Invertebrate fossils A.W. Slocum Annual Report (1906) Vol. 3, No. 1 (p. 27)
1906 Cummings Expedition to the Philippine Islands Asia Luzon ethnology

S.C. Simms

F.C. Cole

Annual Report (1906) Vol. 3 No. 1 (p. 28)
1907 Ethnological Expedition yo Andaman and Nicobar Islands Asia Ethnological specimens Alfred R. Brown Annual Report (1907) Vol.3, No. 2 (p.133)
1907 Cummings Expedition to the Philippine Islands Asia Luzon ethnology F.C. Cole Annual Report (1907) Vol.3, No. 2 (p.133)
1907 Paleontological Expedition to Little Traverse Bay, Michigan USA Invertebrate fossils A.W. Slocum Annual Report (1907) Vol.3, No. 2 (p.133)
1907 Ethnological Expedition at Tama, Iowa USA Ethnological specimens of Sauk and Fox Indians William Jones Annual Report (1907) Vol.3, No. 2 (p.134)
1907 Ethnological Expedition to Northwest Coast USA and Canada Ethnological specimens C.F. Newcombe Annual Report (1907) Vol.3, No. 2 (p.134)
1907 Cummings Expedition to the Philippine Islands Asia Negrito ethnology William Jones Annual Report (1907) Vol.3, No. 2 (p.134)

 

1908 Trip Around the World Egypt, India, Assam, Ceylon, Java, Australia, Solomon Islands, New Guinea, Philippine Islands, China and Japan  Archaeological materials from Eygpt; ethnological material from India, Ceylon, Java, Australia, New Ireland, etc. G.A. Dorsey Annual Report (1908) Vol. 3, No. 3 (p. 238)
1908 Ethnological Expedition to Sikkim and Bhutan Asia Tibetan ethnology B. Laufer Annual Report (1908) Vol. 3, No. 3 (p. 238)
1908 Cummings Expedition to the Philippine Islands Asia Ethnological material from Tinguians, Apayaas, Kalingas, Amurayans, Bataks, Tagbanaus F.C. Cole Annual Report (1908) Vol. 3, No. 3 (p. 238)
1908 Ethnological Expedition to the Andaman Islands Asia

Ethnological material

Alfred R. Brown Annual Report (1908) Vol. 3, No. 3 (p. 238)
1908 Cummings Expedition to the Philippine Islands Asia Mayayo, Igorot, and Ibalaas material William Jones Annual Report (1908) Vol. 3, No. 3 (p. 238)
1909 Field Expedition to Fiji-German New Guinea (Huon Gulf) South Pacific General ethnological collections A.B. Lewis Annual Report (1909) Vol. 3. No. 4 (p. 351)
1909 Cummings Expedition to Luzon, Philippine Islands Asia Collections from among Igorot tribes of northern Luzon S.C. Simms Annual Report (1909) Vol. 3. No. 4 (p. 352)
1909 Cummings Expedition to Mindoro, Philippine Islands Asia Collections and investigations among Mangyans F.C. Cole Annual Report (1909) Vol. 3. No. 4 (p. 352)
1909 Blackstone Expedition to China and Tibet Asia General collection of ethnology and investigations B. Laufer Annual Report (1909) Vol. 3. No. 4 (p. 352)
1909 Anthropological Expedition to Mexico Mexico Reconnaissance of certain ruins in Chiapas G.A. Dorsey Annual Report (1909) Vol. 3. No. 4 (p. 352)
1909 Cummings Expedition to Luzon, Philippine Islands Asia Investigations and collection among the Ilongots, province Isabela W.M. Jones Annual Report (1909) Vol. 3. No. 4 (p. 352)
1910 Field Expedition to German New Guinea South Pacific Ethnological material A.B. Lewis Annual Report (1910) Vol. 4 No. 1 (p. 27)
1910 Cummings Expedition to the Philippine Islands Asia Ethnological material F.C. Cole Annual Report (1910) Vol. 4 No. 1 (p. 27)
1910 Anthropological Field Work in Ohio USA Preliminary investigations C.L. Owen Annual Report (1910) Vol. 4 No. 1 (p. 27)
1910 Blackstone Expedition to China and Tibet Asia Ethnological specimens B. Laufer Annual Report (1910) Vol. 4 No. 1 (p. 27)
1911 Archaeological Field Trip to Ohio USA Archaeological investigations C.L. Owen Annual Report (1911) Vol. 4, No. 2 (p. 124)
1911 Ethnological Expedition to Kansas USA Ethnological investigations S.C. Simms Annual Report (1911) Vol. 4, No. 2 (p. 124)
1911 Ethnological Expedition to New Guinea, New Hebrides, New Caledonia, etc. South Pacific Ethnological material A.B. Lewis Annual Report (1911) Vol. 4, No. 2 (p. 124)
1912 Field Expedition to the South Pacific Islands South Pacific Melanesian ethnology A.B. Lewis Annual Report (1912) Vol. 4, No. 3 (p. 210)
1912 Anthropological Expedition to Arizona USA Hopi ethnology and archaeology C.L. Owen Annual Report (1912) Vol. 4, No. 3 (p. 210)
1913 Ethnological Field Trip to Arizona USA Ethnology C.L. Owen Annual Report (1913) Vol. 4, No. 4 (p. 299)
1913 Field Expedition to Melanesia South Pacific Ethnology A.B. Lewis Annual Report (1913) Vol. 4, No. 4 (p. 299)
1915 Ethnological Expedition to British India Asia Ethnological material G.A. Dorsey Annual Report (1915) Vol. 5, No. 1 (p. 20)
1922 Captain Marshall Field Expedition to  Colombia South America Ancient ruins, burial urns, burial mounds, pottery J.A. Mason Annual Report (1922) Vol. 6, No. 2 (p. 114)
1922 Anthropological Expedition in Malaysia Asia Early history of Philippines, Semang and Malay ethnology Faye-Cooper Cole Annual Report (1922) Vol. 6, No. 2 (p. 114)
1922 Anthropological Expedition to Mesopotamia Asia Archaeological collections Prof. S.H. Langdon Annual Report (1922) Vol. 6, No. 2 (p. 114)
1922-1923 Jones (Arthur) Malayan Ethnological Expedition Asia Ethnological specimens Curator Cole Annual Report (1922) Vol. 6. No. 2 (p.85)
1923 Captain Marshall Field Expedition to China Asia Ethnological and archaeological collections B. Laufer Annual Report (1923) Vol. 6. No. 3 (p.195)
1923 Archaeological Expedition to Mesopotamia Asia Archaeological collections S.H. Langdon Annual Report (1923) Vol. 6. No. 3 (p.210)
1923 Archaeological Expedition to Colombia South America Archaeological collections J.A. Mason Annual Report (1923) Vol. 6. No. 3 (p.210)
1923 Ethnological Expedition to Malaysia Asia Ethnological collections Fay-Cooper Cole Annual Report (1923) Vol. 6. No. 3 (p.210)
1923-1932 Field Museum and Oxford University Joint Expedition to Kish (Mesopotamia) Near East Archaeological collections Henry Field Annual Report (1925) Vol. 6. No. 5 (p. 425)
 

see also FMNH News vol. 2, no. 9, Sept. 1931 p.4

     
see also FMNH News vol. 2, no. 10, Oct. 1931, p.3
see also FMNH News vol. 2, no. 11, Nov. 1931, p.1
see also FMNH News vol. 2, no. 12, Dec.1931, p. 3
1924 Archaeological Expedition to Mesopotamia Near East Archaeological collections S.H. Langdon, E. Makay Annual Report (1924) Vol. 6, No. 4 (p. 302)
1925 Egypt Archaeological Expedition Egypt Archaeological collections Prof. J.H. Breasted Annual Report (1925) Vol. 6, No. 5 (p. 426)
1925 Captain Marshall Field Archaeological Expedition to Peru South America Archaeological collections Dr. A.L. Kroeber Annual Report (1925) Vol. 6, No. 5 (p. 426)
1925 Rosenwald Potawatomi Indian Expedition Iowa, Kansas, and Michigan Ethnological collections M.G. Chandler  Annual Report (1925) Vol. 6, No. 5 (p. 427)
1926 The Second Captain Marshall Field Archaeological Expedition to Peru South America Archaeological collections A.L. Kroeber. W.E. Sebonek, J.C. Tello Annual Report (1926) Vol. 7, no. 1 (p. 51, 76)
1926 Archaeological Expedition to Kish, Mesopotamia Asia Archaeological collections Stephen Langdon, Ernest Mackay Annual Report (1926) Vol. 7, no. 1 (p. 76)
1926-1927 Captain Marshall Field Expedition to Madagascar Madagascar Ethnological collections Ralph Linton Annual Report (1926) Vol. 7, no. 1 (p. 76)
1927-1928 Captain Marshall Field Archaeological Expedition to Western Europe and Egypt Europe and Africa Archaeological collections Henry Field Annual Report (1927) Vol.7, No. 2 (p. 233)
1927-1928 First Marshall Field Archaeological Expedition to British Honduras Central America Archaeological collections J. Eric Thompson Annual Report (1927) Vol.7, No. 2 (p. 232)
1927-1928 Rawson MacMillan Subarctic Expedition of Field Museum Sub-Arctic (Labrador and Baffin Land) Anthropological, botanical, geological, and zoological specimens Donald B. MacMillan, A.C. Weed, A.G. Rueckert, S.K. Roy, W.D. Strong, Charles S. Sewell, Dr. E.E. Langford Annual Report (1927) Vol.7, No. 2 (p. 233), Annual Report (1928) Vol. 7, No. 3 (p. 447)
1929 Second Marshall Field Archaeological Expedition to British Honduras Central America Archaeological and Ethnological collections J. Eric Thompson Annual Report (1929) Vol. 8, No. 1 (p. 92)
1928 Field Museum Anthropological Expedition to Near East North Africa A continuation of the first and second Marshall Field Archaeological Expeditions to the North Arabian Desert. Henry Field Annual Report (1928) Vol. 7, No 3. (p. 394)
1929-1930 Rawson-Field Museum Ethnological Expedition to West Africa West Africa Ethnological collections W.D. Hambly Annual Report (1929) Vol. 8, No. 1 (p. 92)
1930 Marshall Field Archaeological Expedition to Western Europe Europe Anthropological collections Henry Field Annual Report (1930) Vol. 8, No. 2 (p. 354)
1930- Field Museum Archaeological Expedition to the Southwest USA Archaeological collections Paul S. Martin Annual Report (1930) Vol. 8, No. 2 (p. 354)
1931-
1933-
1934-
  see also FMNH News vol. 2, no. 9, Sept. 1931, p. 3    
              FMNH News vol. 5, no. 12, Dec. 1934, p. 3
1930-1931 Archaeological Field Work at Ipswich, England Europe Archaeological collections J. Feid Moir Annual Report (1931) Vol. 9, No. 1 (p. 104)
1931- The Third Marshall Field Archaeological Expedition to British Honduras Central America Archaeological and ethnological collections J. Eric Thompson Annual Report (1931) Vol. 9, No. 1 (p. 104)
1933 Burleson-Field Museum Expedition to Mexico Mexico Anthropological collections   Bulletin (1933) vo. 4, no. 2, p. 3
1934 Field Museum Anthropological Expedition to the Near East Iraq Anthropological collections Henry Field, Richard A. Martin, Winifred Smeaton, Mrs. E.M. Drower, Mrs. Donald Clawson, Dr. W.P. Kennedy, Albert Meymourian, S.Y. Showket, Khedoory Muallim, Yusuf Lazar Annual Report (1934) Vol. 10, No. 2 (p. 174)
  see also FMNH News vol. 5, no. 4, April 1934, p. 3    
              FMNH News vol. 6, no. 1, Jan. 1935, p. 2
1934 Joint Archaeology Expedition of the Carnegie Institute and Field Museum British Honduras (Central America) Anthropological collections J. Eric Thompson Annual Report (1934) Vol. 10, No. 3 (p. 169)
1937-1938 Field Museum Archaeological Expedition to the Southwest USA Anthropological collections Paul S. Martin Annual Report (1937) Vol. 11, No. 2 (p. 189)
1939-1940 Field Museum Archaeological Expedition to the Southwest USA Anthropological Paul S. Martin Annual Report (1939) Vol. 12, No. 1 (p. 45)
  see also FMNH Bulletin vol. 13, no. 2, p. 6    
1942 Joint Expedition of Field Museum and Institute for Andean Research to Ecuador South America Investigation of archaeological sites; promotion of cultural relations with Latin America Donald Collier, Curator of South American Ethnology and Archaeology Annual Report (1942) Vol. 13, No. 1 (p. 47)
1946 Archaeological Expedition to Peru South America Anthropological excavations Donald Collier Annual Report (1946) p. 48
1946 Archaeological Expedition to the Southwest USA SU site (Mogollon culture) Paul S. Martin, John Rinaldo Annual Report (1946) p. 44
  see also FMNH Bulletin vol. 17, no. 5-6, p.7    
1947 Ethnological Expedition to Micronesia South Pacific Social, political and economic structure of a community Dr. Alexander Spoehr Annual Report (1947) p. 39, p. 45
1947 Southwest Archaeological Expedition (New Mexico) - June 15 - September 15) USA Information on early man in America Dr. Paul S. Martin, Chief Curator of Anthropology Annual Report (1947) p. 39p. 41
  see also FMNH Bulletin vol. 18, no. 5, p. 2    
1948 Southwest Archaeological Expedition (New Mexico) USA  Research on Mogollon culture Dr. Paul S. Martin Annual Report (1948) p. 31, p. 32
1949 Mexican (Sonora) Archaeological Expedition Mexico Cochise culture and contacts between Indians of Southwestern U.S.  Donald J. Lehmer Annual Report (1949) p. 29, p. 33
1949 Southwest Archaeological Expedition (New Mexico) USA Mogollon culture Paul S. Martin Annual Report (1949) p. 29, p. 30
1049-1950 Micronesian Anthropological Expedition Marianas Islands Archaeological surveys and excavations Dr. Alexander Spoehr Annual Report (1950) p. 32, p. 38
  see also FMNH Bulletin vol. 21, no. 1, 1950, p. 5    
1950 (Sixteenth) Southwest Archaeological Expedition (New Mexico) - (June) USA Cordova Cave excavation Dr. Paul S. Martin Annual Report (1950) p. 32, p. 33
  see also FMNH Bulletin vol. 21, no. 1, 1950, p. 5    
1951 Southwest Archaeological Field Trip (New Mexico) USA Excavation of a dry cave Hugh C. Cutler Annual Report (1951) p. 29, p. 39
1952 Buchen East Africa Expedition Africa Marsh birds Walther Buchen, Dr. Austin L. Annual Report (1952) p. 31, p. 30
  see also FMNH Bulletin vol. 23, no. 6, 1952, p. 3    
see also FMNH Bulletin vol. 23, no. 8, 1952, p. 5
1952 Southwest Archaeological Expedition (New Mexico) USA  Mogollon culture Paul S. Martin Annual Report (1952) p. 31, p. 34
  see also FMNH Bulletin vol. 23, no. 1, 1952, p. 7    
1953 Southwest Archaeological Expedition USA Life and culture of Mogollon natives Paul S. Martin, John B. Rinaldo Annual Report (1953) p. 32 - 36
  see also FMNH Bulletin vol. 24, no. 2, 1953, p. 6    
1953-1954 Ethnological Expedition to Ivory Coast Africa Ethnological specimens    
1954 Lower Mississippi Valley Archaeology Field Trip (Mississippi and Louisiana) USA Archaeological research George I. Quimby, James R. Getz Annual Report (1954) p. 33, p. 37
1954 Southwest Archaeological Expedition (New Mexico) USA Life and culture of Mogollon natives Paul S. Martin, John B. Rinaldo Annual Report (1954) p. 33, p. 34
  see also FMNH Bulletin vol. 24, no. 2, 1953, p. 7    
1955 Louisiana Archaeological Field Trip USA Archaeological collections George I. Quimby Annual Report (1955) p. 35, p. 40  
1955 Southwest Archaeological Expedition (New Mexico) USA Life and culture of Mogollon natives Paul S. Martin Annual Report (1955) p. 35-36
1955-1956 Chicago Region Archaeological Field Trips  USA Location of sites of Native encampments Elaine Bluhm Annual Report (1955) p. 35, p. 39
1956 Great Lakes Area Archaeological Field Trips (Ontario and Michigan) USA & Canada Problems of archaeology and environment George I. Quimby Annual Report (1956) p. 36, p. 40
  see also FMNH Bulletin vol. 27, no. 2, p. 2, 3    
1956 Peru Archaeological Expedition South America Explorations and excavations in Casma Valley Donald Collier Annual Report (1956) p. 36, p. 39
Don Thompson
  see also FMNH Bulletin vol. 27, no. 2, p. 2, 3    
1956 Southwest Archaeological Expedition (Arizona) USA Search for archaeological sites Paul S. Martin Annual Report (1956) p. 36, p. 37
John B. Rinaldo
  see also FMNH Bulletin vol. 27, no. 2, p. 2, 3    
1957 Great Lakes Area Archaeological Field Trips USA Archaeology George I. Quimby Annual Report (1957) p. 34, p. 40
1957 Southwest Archaeological Expedition USA (Arizona) Archaeological excavation and research Dr. Paul S. Martin Annual Report (1957) p. 34, p. 37
1958 Great Lakes Area Archaeological Field Trips USA Archaeology and environment George I. Quimby Annual Report (1958) p. 40, p. 46
  see also FMNH Bulletin vol. 29, no. 2, p. 7    
1959 Great Lakes Area Archaeological Field Trips USA Archaeology and environment George I. Quimby Annual Report (1959) p. 36, p. 44
1959 Southwest Archaeological Expedition (Arizona) USA Excavation of archaeological material Dr. Paul S. Martin Annual Report (1959) p. 36, p. 41
1960 Formosa Anthropological Field Trip Asia Chinese ink rubbings Dr. Kenneth Starr Annual Report (1960) p. 40, p. 50
1960 Great Lakes Area Archaeological Field Trips USA Archaeology, geochronology and environment George I. Quimby Annual Report (1960) p. 40, p. 48
1960 Southwest Archaeological Expedition (Arizona) USA Excavation and archaeological reconnaissance Dr. Paul S. Martin Annual Report (1960) p. 40, p. 43
1961 Great Lakes Area Archaeological Field Trips USA Prehistory and changing environments George I. Quimby Annual Report (1961) p. 34, p. 38
1961 Southwest Archaeological Expedition (Arizona) USA Excavation and archaeological reconnaissance Dr. Paul S. Martin Annual Report (1961) p. 34, p. 37
1962 Great Lakes Area Archaeological Field Trip USA Anthropological problems George I. Quimby Annual Report (1962) p. 35, p. 40
1962 Mexico Archaeological Field Trip Mexico Archaeology Dr. Donald Collier Annual Report (1962) p. 35, p. 39
1962 Southwest Archaeological Expedition (Arizona) USA Cultural adaption change and ecology Dr. Paul S. Martin Annual Report (1962) p. 35, p. 39
1963 Southwest Archaeological Expedition (Arizona) USA Excavation - patterns of social organization Paul S. Martin Annual Report (1963) p. 32, p. 37
  see also FMNH Bulletin vol. 34, no. 3, p. 7, 8    
1963 Upper Great Lakes Archaeological Field Trips USA Archaeology of historic period George I. Quimby Annual Report (1963) p. 38
  see also FMNH Bulletin vol. 34, no. 3, p. 7, 8    
1964 Great Lakes Archaeological Field Trips USA Archaeology of historic period George I. Quimby Annual Report (1964) p. 17
  see also FMNH Bulletin vol. 35, no. 4, p. 6    
1964 Southwest Archaeological Expedition (Arizona) USA Excavation - cultural patterns Paul S. Martin Annual Report (1964) p. 17
  see also FMNH Bulletin vol. 35, no. 4, p. 6    
1965 Great Lakes Archaeological Field Trips USA Archaeology of historic period George I. Quimby Annual Report (1965) p. 9-10
1965 Southwest Archaeological Expedition (Arizona) USA Archaeological excavations Paul S. Martin Annual Report (1965) p. 8
1965-1966 Marianas Islands Archaeological Expedition (Guam) South Pacific Archaeological and ethnological collections Dr. Fred Reinman

Annual Report (1965) p. 10

Annual Report (1966) p. 9

1966 Southwest Archaeological Expedition USA Archaeological excavations Dr. Paul S. Martin Annual Report (1966) p. 9
1966 Study New Ireland collections in German and Swiss Museums Europe Anthropology Dr. Phillip H. Lewis Annual Report (1966) p. 9
1966 Southwestern Alaska Expedition Alaska Anthropology Dr. James W. VanStone Annual Report (1966) p. 9
1966 African Field Investigation Malawi Anthropology Dr. Glen Cole Annual Report (1966) p. 8
1966 Three Weeks Study in the Republic of China China Anthropology    
1967 Southwest Archaeological Expedition USA Excavation at Hay Hallow, eastern Arizona Paul S. Martin Annual Report (1967-1968) p. 12
1967 Research Trip to Washington, D.C USA Anthropology    
1967 Research Trip to N.J. State Museum and Rochester Museum of Arts and Sciences USA Anthropology    
1967 Archaeological Excavation and Ethnographic Research Southwest Alaska Anthropology Dr. James W. VanStone Annual Report (1967-1968) p. 13
1968 Southwest Archaeological Expedition Arizona Excavation at Hay Hallow, eastern Arizona Paul S. Martin Annual Report (1967-1968) p. 12
1968 Variation in Art and Society in New Ireland New Ireland Anthropology Phillip H. Lewis Annual Report (1967-1968) p. 12
1970 S.W. Archaeological Expedition  USA Quills, dwellings   Annual Report (1960-1970) p. 10

Anthropology Expeditions

 © Field Museum of Natural History. An expedition member holding rock with camel marks on it [brands tattoos], 1928.